Home » Rambling » Work

Work

I am so very lucky to have a job that I love. Not only do I enjoy what I do, the flexibility afforded to me is a perk no other job could match at this point in my life.

I took this job when the children’s father told me we were getting divorced. I had been a stay at home parent since Boy1 was born. He did not move out of the house. Instead he closed the joint bank account and refused to even give me money for gas in my vehicle.

I was initially hired as part time and was full time within a month. I worked my tush (Boy2’s new favorite word) off with available online training, worked every shift available to me, and even worked double shifts on  Christmas Eve and Christmas Day as well as New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day so the other employees could have the time off to spend with their families. My family lives quite far away and the children were there for the holidays so it was no skin off my back to work the extra hours.

Before I moved out of the house, I worked less and less to meet the needs of my children. I worked weekends so they didn’t have to feel the tension between their father and me, took days off so I could spend time with them at school, things like that.

Now that I am out of the house I am back to working 40+ hours per week. Although my financial burdens are heavy right now, I am confident that with hard work and diligence I will be back on track as early as the end of May. That’s a nice short term goal.

People often ask why  I continue to work here, the pay is not high, there are no benefits. I choose to stay because right now I am ok here. It is not time for me to make a career move. Until the divorce is final, I need the stability this job grants me with the flexibility it affords me.

I’ve met some wonderful people through work. Some of my closest friends over the last year have been met through work. I have learned so much from the people I meet. I am thankful to have made the connections I have.

One thought on “Work

  1. Work isn’t all about making the big bucks – it is so much easier to go to a job where you enjoy yourself and feel appreciated than to go somewhere that you don’t like – even though the money is great!

    PS – You know my name – I think I should know yours!!!!!

Leave a Reply

