Home » Rambling » My Sleeve

My Sleeve

That’s where my heart lives, on my sleeve. It gets pissed that I leave it out there for people to see, touch, hold, drop, squish, spit on, walk over, etc.

I refuse to take my heart OFF my sleeve. It’s where it belongs. When it gets hurt, it learns a lesson, when it feels love, it is rewarded. Life is short. I am reminded of this too often. I will not spend my life guarding a heart that wants to love and be loved, that wants to live. As I meet people I am often surprised by the connections I make. I am humbled that people are drawn to me. I am proud of the person I am. Deep inside my soul, I like me. When you show a genuine interest in people they remember you; they like you. When people like me I am eager to get to know them…inside and out. You can never have too many friends. I refuse to live behind walls.

When people live behind walls they claim that they are protecting themselves. I think they are hurting MUCH more than they are protecting. They are refusing themselves the opportunity to live and love. To love so deeply that the sunrise is more colorful, the world becomes a more friendly, welcome place. They are also denied the opportunity to hurt like they’ve never been hurt. I know most people aren’t eager to feel this one but it is a crucial feeling to experience.

If you haven’t hurt, you haven’t loved.

Until you can allow your heart to be completely vulnerable to another human being, you will never experience complete love. I will never tell my heart no. I will continue to get to know people, I will continue to be hurt, and I will appreciate each experience for what it is. They are all lessons I was meant to learn and just as they say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, the way to my brain is through my heart.

The price I pay when my heart gets broke is very high. I imagine it is like a cloud must miss the rain when it falls; sad to see it go, but understanding that it had to happen. Today a friend of mine said it sure is raining in my world right now. I said, “Yep, should be a beautiful crop of flowers when the sun shines.” I can only see the silver lining…without rain we cannot have flowers…and I love flowers.

If you have my heart, you have all of me.

I trust people to not run over it like a steamroller unless and until they do. I believe people are good. I also believe good people can sometimes do bad things. Good people can also become bad people. I will not make decisions based on other people’s experiences. I will allow my personal experiences with people to decide my relationship with them.

You start with a clean slate with me. Write on it, color it, leave notes on it…others cannot add to your slate, nor can they erase what you have put on it. You can make corrections on your slate, I can make notes in the margin of your slate…but it is yours to write on.

Please be gentle.

Leave a Reply

