Home » Rambling » The Last Supper

The Last Supper

Ok, maybe I’m being a little overly dramatic…I mean they will be back next weekend. Realistically I know they need to see their dad, they need to see that their grandma is okay. Looking at the statistics, her five-year survival rate is about 20%. Knowing what I do about the situation and her self-care to this point, I think that number is high.

I am confident that my boys have learned some very valuable lessons in the last month. One that they will struggle with when they go home is financial priorities. Instead of ‘we can’t afford it’ for everything (their dad’s go-to answer for anything that is not his top priority) we look at the budget and we make a plan.

The boys and I take an annual trip to Minneapolis for three or four days of awesomeness. We are not sure if we can take it this year. A lot of our financial decisions right now hinge on what the judge has to say on Tuesday. The original reason for us going back to court is Mr. Ex is asking to the judge to amend the order that says he is to pay me $500.00 in spousal support. This opened the door for us to ask for to amend the custody and visitation. If nothing changes, and he is still required to pay me the spousal support, he is already nearly $2000.00 behind. Although I understand this won’t be paid in a lump sum, it will allow me some security knowing my savings can be built back up fairly quickly.

So for now, our trip is off and that’s okay. Everybody has to make sacrifices during divorce. Maybe instead of Minneapolis we can save up and go somewhere else…the possibilities are nearly endless. Our financial future is okay. We will have many more trips, many more experiences. Money can’t buy happiness…but it sure buys nice shoes and pretty jewlery.

Unexpectedly having the boys for a month with no financial support has drained what little savings I had left after spending my first month out of the house living in a hotel, then paying the damage deposit for the apartment and the utility deposit. I am seriously considering cutting off the cable and internet at home just to save the $90 and build my savings up even faster. Not having a financial safety net is very difficult for me. I crave that security of knowing I can get through a crisis such as the one I just faced. If the tables had been turned on Mr. Ex, it would have destroyed him. I can’t live with that uncertainty…did I mention I will need new tires on my vehicle by winter? lol

With them going home (Friday now is the day) I am going to see if I can work some double shifts next week to make up for some of the hours I missed this week plus I have to miss Tuesday for the court hearing. I would like to have at least 40 hours on my paycheck. The paycheck I get tomorrow will cover all my fixed expenses for July. Maybe I will even work Sunday afternoon…we will see. I need to just spend some time taking care of myself as well.

Did I mention I could really use a manicure and pedicure, a full body massage, and a sugar scrub? Yes, some regular pampering is what I need.  I know once life is settled down a bit I will make time in my schedule and room in the budget for these things, because I enjoy them. Maybe…if I’m lucky…my boyfriend will just start buying me gift certificates for such things 😉 haha

Leave a Reply

