Home » Rambling » What I Heard

What I Heard

Acts 3:

1 One day Peter and John were going up to the temple at the time of prayer–at three in the afternoon. 2 Now a man crippled from birth was being carried to the temple gate called Beautiful, where he was put every day to beg from those going into the temple courts. 3 When he saw Peter and John about to enter, he asked them for money. 4 Peter looked straight at him, as did John. Then Peter said, “Look at us!” 5 So the man gave them his attention, expecting to get something from them. 6 Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” 7 Taking him by the right hand, he helped him up, and instantly the man’s feet and ankles became strong. 8 He jumped to his feet and began to walk. Then he went with them into the temple courts, walking and jumping, and praising God. 9 When all the people saw him walking and praising God, 10 they recognized him as the same man who used to sit begging at the temple gate called Beautiful, and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him.

The sermon at church Sunday focused on these first ten verses of the third chapter of Acts. The youth pastor and his young assistant (who did wonderfully) preached about how John and Peter were…(where the heck did I put my notes?)…I love the fact that our church includes sermon notes as part of the bulletin. Each week I follow the sermon, take notes, and usually have some great epiphany (yes pun intended Pastor Jeff) that needs to be blogged about. I’m sure if I look through the debris in my van, I have MANY wonderful sermon notes just waiting to be blogged upon…but I digress…

A. Peter and John were heart ready. When they saw the beggar they were open to helping him, they did not rush past with they eyes to the ground. Instead, they looked right at him.

B. Peter and John are not afraid. They didn’t care what people would think of them performing God’s work in the midst of a crowd. They did not feel awkward sharing their gift, their knowledge, their understanding.

C. Peter and John are not typical. They could not give the beggar what he asked for. What if they had only walked by when they realized they did not have exactly what he was asking for. He wasn’t asking to be healed, he was asking for financial consideration. Everybody else just gave him what he asked for.

For me, when I pray, I rarely ask God to provide me with what I think I need. Who knows my needs better than the One who created me? I’m a little stressed out lately…I’m not even sure what I’d ask for…oh ya…I do…a maid. A maid who doesn’t require cash payment…never mind, I won’t go there…my last wish for a maid got me in trouble!

Sorry sweetie…I promise…no male maids…but a pedicure would sure be nice right about now.

ANYWAY…how the HECK do these posts go off the track like that? No warning…then BAM…totally off topic…back to my scheduled thought…

A long time ago I learned to not ask God for what I wanted. Instead, I ask for help understanding the journey that I am on.  Before I was ordered to move out of my home I would have prayed and prayed and prayed to be granted custody of my kids and use of the house. Being that I did not get those things, I would have been extremely disappointed in God. Not me though, I asked only for God to help the judge make the best decision possible for the sake of my children…and I believe he did.

Although some people are right now thinking I need to have my meds adjusted…just wait, hear me out…

The worst of the worst case scenario happened…Mr. Ex was granted custody and I was kicked out of the house. The lessons I learned through that were that I am strong enough to get through anything, I found out who my friends were and that they would stand by me no matter what,  that all the hard work I put in to raising my children gave them the security they needed to know that no matter what I would always be there for them. I also learned that my love for them was strong enough to last the 12 day span that I don’t see them. That once back in my arms, I don’t have to remind them they are loved, they just know it (but I remind them anyway).

Although a great take on the reading, I had a completely different take on it. I’m sure my current situation colored my view, but it is one that I think needs to be expressed.

As I’ve mentioned before I believe strongly that everything happens for a reason. I choose to believe that every experience, even those deemed negative by the majority, have a purpose.

With all the kids and I are going through at this time, I believe it is a lesson teaching my boys just how wonderful they are, teaching me how strong I am. It is my choice to embrace this struggle with as much of a positive attitude as I can manage. I know that when God’s plan is revealed I will be able to celebrate my own growth and the growth of the boys.

If I was negative through all of this, my children would not be free to express their emotions. The potential to miss all the positive things we have seen and done in these few months would be a waste. All the teachable moments would be colored with negativity.

My brother was born with Down’s Syndrome. Not once…NEVER, would I have wished him born with only 46 chromosomes. I would not have been involved with the Special Olympics as a child, I would never have been able to appreciate the little things in life…teaching him to read…little monster books were a favorite while we sat in a steamy bathroom through yet another round of croup. I don’t know if I would have been so eager to learn American Sign Language which led to a regular babysitting gig with a deaf girl…which led to me teach all of my children sign language (B2’s current obsession…you should have seen him signing like a mad-man as he pulled away in his dad’s car last week…TOO AWESOME).

This beggar was born lame for a reason…so he could be healed in God’s time. When God decided the time was right. God made him lame from birth so that so many more people could see how wonderful He was through these three men. I wish more people could embrace their journey where they are instead of always wishing for something different. Things are as they are for a reason, and they are good.

Leave a Reply

