Home » Rambling » Change Happens

Change Happens

We all know that the amount of change I have dealt with in the last two years would have beaten a weaker person into submission. Not me though. I have not only faced the changes head on, I have embraced them as positive life events.

Most people don’t choose to make significant changes in their life without a darn good reason to give up the life they have become accustomed to. I used to be one of those people.

I was extremely unhappy in my marriage but had vowed ‘for better or worse’ so I wasn’t going anywhere. My ex was not that determined to fulfill his promises to me, our children, or even God. This is his second time filing for divorce. The first time he did, I started dating about six months after he moved out which caused him to come crawling back, tail between his legs telling me he was sorry and that I was right (duh), he was wrong (duh) and he would do the things he has agreed to before we got married. He even made a huge list of things to prove he was serious. From that list of twenty-something promises, he kept one.

I used to think my only regret in life was allowing him back at that time. Well, I would not have met the people I have met or had some of the experiences I have had over the last four years. I am especially grateful for the people in my life today. Had I moved on then, I would not have these people in my life now.

I am in the midst of another change that I have been putting off. So many things have changed at my job that it is no longer satisfying, fulfilling, or even enjoyable for the most part. I don’t feel valued or even valuable to the business and it is time to move on.

A little while back our church began searching for a Children’s Minister. This position would deal specifically with ages infant – fifth grade. A WONDERFUL fit for me, I thought. When I used to teach Sunday School it filled me with so much love, hope, promise, faith. As I read the job description and requirements, it became extremely intimidating. I became so intimidated that I didn’t even complete the application. There were just too many questions about my own faith journey when I went through the application. I felt to be a good leader of our most important church members, it should be somebody much further in their journey, much more confident than myself.

Well, now our church is in search of a part time administrative assistant. Although it is only a part time position, I am thinking that the hours may increase as the church grows and I can take on more responsibilities and even some of the children’s ministry tasks until a children’s pastor is hired.

This will also be a great opportunity for me to grow closer to God. How better to grow my faith than in working within the church?

I talked to very few people in detail about this opportunity. The Friend, The Milk Man, and one other friend know the details of my current job and all three think it would be a great fit for me to move on. This position also offers two weeks of paid vacation. I have absolutely no benefits at my current job.

I can likely work part time for my current employer, he’s desperate for help. I can agree to cover vacations and such to make up for some of the lost wages. Either way, “And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:19

I have spent much time in prayer about this decision. It will have an effect the boys, my daughter, and myself. I strongly believe I am ready for this challenge and the fulfillment of this position if it is offered to me. Change comes in many forms and opportunities for growth are everywhere. I look forward to jumping on this.

My plan is to have the resume finished tomorrow as well as a letter of interest. Feel free to ask if I’m done yet…this NEEDS to get done.

Leave a Reply

